RFL celebrates International Women’s Day by announcing Women’s Super League fixtures

Posted by


Its international Womens Day, a day where women all round the world celebrate their fight for equality.

Today, saw the blueprints outlined for the new Women’s Super League as the fixtures were announced today.

The season starts on 8th April as Featherstone Rovers host Leeds Rhinos.

Other teams in the league are St Helens, York City Knights, Castleford Tigers, Bradford Bulls and Wigan Warriors.

The Super League has been another step in getting more women involved in the game. An amateur competition was set up in 2014 with mainly amateur sides setting up women’s teams after a reform.

It launched last year with Bradford Bulls taking the inaugural crown after beating Featherstone Rovers in the Grand Final at the Etihad Campus in Manchester.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.