Bruce headlines NCL Player of the Year nominees

Posted by

Former Dewsbury Moor Maroons forward Archie Bruce was listed among the names for the NCL Player of the Year for Division One.

Bruce tragically passed away in the summer, aged 20, just hours after making his debut for Championship side Batley Bulldogs in the south of France against Toulouse.

He has been posthumously nominated after a season which saw him pick up 11 man of the match awards and 11 tries in just 15 games for the Dewsbury club.

Also up for the Division One award are Jamie Smith of Pilkington Recs and Anthony Chilton of York Acorn.

Meanwhile in the Premier Division, there are no nominations for champions West Hull, but there are nominees from runners up Thatto Heath Crusaders (Ben Heyes) and the league leaders Wath Brow Hornets (Karl Dixon). The list is completed by Craig McShane of Hunslet Club Parkside.

In Division Two, the three promoted sides are recognised for the awards. West Bowling are represented by Danny Halmshaw, Ince Rose Bridge are represented by Danny Cassidy and Hull Dockers are represented by Chris Lyth.

Finally, in Division Three, Hunslet Warriors and Woolston Rovers are both rewarded for an excellent title race with nominations for Mark Scott and Harry Files respectively. The list there is completed by Gavin Davies of Batley Boys.

The event will be on the 2nd November at the Cedar Court Hotel in Huddersfield.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.