French wins Broadcasters award

Wigan full-back Bevan French has been voted the Rugby League Writers’ and Broadcasters’ Association player of the year for 2020.

The 24-year-old Australian has had a successful first full season for Wigan, scoring 13 tries in 18 games to play a key role in the Warriors’ run to the Grand Final.

French is the overwhelming recipient of the Raymond Fletcher Memorial Trophy, which was won in 2019 by Wigan team-mate Jackson Hastings.

St Helens prop Alex Walmsley and his team-mate Lachlan Coote were the closest rivals to French, who is short-listed for the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award which will be announced on Monday.

RLWBA chairman Trevor Hunt said: “Its been the darkest of times but Bevan French has typified the spirit of Rugby League with some outstanding performances to lift the gloom and spark Wigan to the League Leaders Shield and the Super League Grand Final, claiming over 70% of the vote to become the RLWBA Player of the Year.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: