McShane wins Man of Steel

Castleford Tigers’ hooker Paul McShane is the Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel for 2020. 

He beat fellow contenders Aidan Sezer (Huddersfield Giants), Liam Farrell and Bevan French (both Wigan Warriors) and Saints’ Lachlan Coote to the highest individual accolade in the game.

Reacting to the news, he said: “It hasn’t really sunk in yet and seems surreal, I am honoured that legends of our game think I’m worthy of this award.

“If it wasn’t for my teammates I wouldn’t have been near, at the end of the day I go out and play rugby for them, I want to do my best for them and for those guys wanting me to do well it means a lot.

“There have been some tough periods throughout the year with results not going our way, but the lads have been turning up and trying their hardest and they have helped me win this award.”

Man of Steel Chairman Ellery Hanley MBE said: “The award deservedly goes to Paul McShane because he performs in every game he plays in. 

“He is ‘Mr Dependable’ and everyone holds him in the highest regard. As a player, he consistently displays bravery, skill and athleticism.

“This is a man who wears his badge of honour in every action he delivers on the rugby league field.

“You only have to be in his company for three minutes to discover what a gentleman and first-class human being he is. 

The full list of awards for the 2020 Super League season are as follows: 

Top Tackler – Michael Lawrence (Huddersfield Giants) 

Top Try Scorer – Ash Handley (Leeds Rhinos)

Spirit of Super League Award – Rob Burrow and Mose Masoe 

(Awarded to those who make a significant contribution to the sport beyond the field of play.)

Young Player of the Year – Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos)

Coach of the Year – Adrian Lam (Wigan Warriors)

Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel – Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: