Saints and Wigan to contest final for 4th time

League Leaders Wigan Warriors will take on arch-rivals St Helens in the Super League Grand Final on Friday.

The two finished first and second respectively, and cruised through their semi-final ties against Hull FC and Catalans Dragons.

In their previous three Grand Final encounters, Saints came out victorious in 2000 and 2014, while Wigan won in 2010.

There is also added incentive for Saints, as victory would see them record back-to-back titles for the first time in 20 years.

The match kicks off at 8pm, and the referee will be Chris Kendall.

Team News

Wigan are boosted by the return of Sam Powell, who missed last week’s win against Hull for personal reasons.

Joe Greenwood also returns against his former club.

They replace Ben Flower, who picked up a hamstring injury last week, and Amir Bourouh.

Sean O’Loughlin is set to play his final game for the club, 18 years after making his debut.

Saints remain unchanged from their semi-final win against Catalans.

James Graham will be able to play his final game for the Saints, despite failing a HIA during the Catalans match.

Alex Walmsley is also cleared to play despite picking up a niggle in the same game. It will be his 200th game for the club.

Zeb Taia and Dom Peyroux also get the chance to play one more time for the club.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: